2021 David Kelly Award for Community Service -
The deadline for 2021 submissions is September 10th, 2021.
  • Summary:

    The David Kelly Award for Community Service is awarded annually to one individual who exemplifies the spirit of community service in support of the brain tumour community in Canada. This award, previously the Chair’s Award for Community Service, has been renamed in honour of brain tumour advocate and fundraising leader David Kelly, from Fredericton, New Brunswick, who passed away in October 2014.
  • Eligibility:

    • The nominee must have completed their community involvement with Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada within the previous 12 months
    • Can be an individual or couple/partnership
    • An individual can only receive this award once
  • Criteria:


    The nominee recognizes a need in the brain tumour community and responds.


    The nominee’s activity is innovative or unique in its approach (e.g. establishing a new program).


    The nominee is making a significant positive impact in the brain tumour community.


    The nominee demonstrates substantial, continuing and current involvement.


    The nominee inspires others to contribute in a meaningful way.


    The nominee demonstrates or is developing leadership capacity.

    Special Qualities

    The nominee’s overall contribution to community service makes them particularly worthy of the David Kelly Award for Community Service.
  • Nomination Process:

    • The David Kelly Award for Community Service will supplement existing Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada award programs and can be used to differentiate and acknowledge the contributions of volunteers and community members beyond the normal scope of service.
    • It can also be used to recognize those persons who partner with Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada to assist the achievement of the Vision and Mission.
    • Individuals must be identified and nominated by a Board member, staff, program volunteer or a community member connected to Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada. Self- nominations will not be accepted.
    • All submissions will be evaluated by the CEO, Chair of the Board and a past recipient of the award.
  • Nomination Criteria Questions: