The congregation is being asked to submit recommendations for persons to serve as Elders, Trustees and the CME Council.

We ask that the congregation wrap this process in prayer. Take some time to pray over the names in the church directory. Who do you believe exhibits spiritual leadership to take St. Philip to the next step? Who has a contagious passion for God? Who might enlarge our vision, empower our members, and embrace a bit of risk? How about you?

We invite your nominations by completing the below form. By providing us with more information than just a name strengthens your nomination and helps us in this most important process.

Please use a separate form for each recommendation.

    In addition to possessing the necessary gifts and abilities for leading the congregation, those who undertake the ministry of Ruling Elder should be persons of strong faith, dedicated discipleship, and love of Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. Their manner of life should be a demonstration of the Christian gospel in the church and in the world. As members of the Session, they are responsible for the spiritual oversight of the congregation and for oversight of all the programs and ministries of St. Philip.

    Currently serving as Elders:
    Class of 2024 - Melissa Aldrich, Beth Atkinson, Walker Fair, Angelina Fonseca, Nancy Higgs, Susan Leonard, Jon Martin.
    Class of 2025 - Dan Boston, Laura Burgess, Maggie Dement, William Howard, Mary Thornton McGuire, Gary Whitney, Nancy Beck Young.
    Class of 2026 – Selena Brinegar, Kate Burkart, David Castro, Ada Fuller, Kurt Grether, John Hartman, and Mickey Meyers.

    The duties of the trustees are to receive, hold, encumber, manage, and transfer property on behalf of the congregation; and to manage any permanent special funds for the furtherance of the purposes of the congregation.

    Currently serving as Trustees are David Castle, John Van Osdall, and Casey Lambright.

    Members of the council decide the disbursements of the Central Mission Endowment Fund (CMEF). Persons serving on the council should be interested in mission outreach with available time for site visits.

    Currently serving on the council are Bob Ardell, David Castro (Mission Committee Rep), Maggie Dement (Session Rep), Dick Howard, Roderick James, Cathy Patterson, Peg Palisin, Jeanette Wennenweser, and Jennifer Wilson.

    2024 Nominating Committee: Laura Burgess (chair), Selena Brinegar, Jane Lee, Mickey Meyers, Dick Nunn, and Gay Van Osdall.

    In order to submit a candidate, it is requested that you provide the candidate’s name and your name in case we have questions. Self-nominations are welcome.

    In making recommendations, please elaborate on personal qualities, involvement in our church, and why you consider this person a good candidate for church leadership.

    If you are recommending a Ruling Elder, please indicate the ministry area(s) you think they would best serve: Education; Fellowship; Finance; Mission; Peacemaking & Social Justice; Personnel; Property; Stewardship; Welcome & Membership; or Worship & Music.
  • Your contact info:
  • Please provide your email address in case we may need to contact you.
  • - -
  • Please note after submitting the form:

    You should receive an acknowledgement on the screen that your form has been submitted and received. If not, please resubmit.