2017 RWJF - NAFC Health Equity Award
The National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (NAFC) is happy to announce the RWJF Award for Health Equity presented by the National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics celebrating health practitioners who excel in building a “Culture of Health and achieving health equity” in communities across the country. The NAFC advances the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s (RWJF) vision for building a “Culture of Health” by eliminating barriers to high quality health care for those the medically underserved in the United States. Any health care practitioner (i.e., physician, physician’s assistant, nurse, nurse practitioner, case manager, etc.) at a NAFC member organization can be nominated by a peer or a clinic Board member for their work in improving outcomes under one of four focus areas:

• Increasing Patient Visit Capacity
• Better Chronic Disease Outcomes
• Reducing Emergency Room Utilization
• Improved Patient Compliance
• Established collaborative health & wellness program in addition to primary care
• Successful telehealth or mobile health program

A maximum of one (1) Nominee (individual or team of two individuals) will receive a $3,000 prize (“Winner”). The Prize is unrestricted; it may be used in any way determined by the recipient. While recipients may be invited to meetings by the administering organization or RWJF, attendance at such events is not required as a condition of the accepting the Prize. In the event a team of individuals is selected, the prize will be divided equally between the two team members.

ELIGIBILITY: The RWJF-NAFC Award is open only to individuals and teams of no more than two individuals, who are (a) citizens or legal residents of the United States, (b) thirteen (13) years of age or older, (c) not a trustee, director, officer, shareholder, employee, contractor, agent, representative, or affiliate of RWJF, Sponsor, selection committee or the spouse/domestic partner, parent, sibling, child, or grandchild of any of the foregoing, (d) have not previously received any RWJF Award for Health Equity from any sponsor organization in any year, and (e) are members in good standing of the NAFC. Each individual, each team, and each individual member of a team, is referred to as a “Nominee”. The entry period for the RWJF-NAFC Award will begin at 9am Eastern Time on June 28th, 2017. Entries will be accepted through 8pm Eastern Time on July 28th, 2017 (the “Entry Period”).

WINNER SELECTION/JUDGING CRITERIA: A panel of judges chosen by the Sponsor (collectively, the “Judges”) will select winning entries from all eligible entries based on the following judging criteria:

• Nominee’s work shows alignment with Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s vision for building a Culture of Health and achieving health equity
• Nominee’s work demonstrated success to change systems that impact health outcomes in one or more of the following areas: access to quality care, education, employment, income, community environment, housing, and public safety
• Nominee’s work provided a solution to improve outcomes for groups most affected by health disparities
• Nominee’s successfully implemented a systems change approach to reduce health disparities within the past two years
Nominee’s work will have a sustainability plan in place

For FULL OFFICIAL RULES, please copy and paste the following link into your internet browser:
  • - -